"Till we all come in the unity of the faith" - Eph. 4: 13



New Providence District

Established in 1969   •   By   •   Superintendent   •  Enoch Backford Sr.


The New Providence District of the Bahamas Baptist Union of Churches was
established in 1969 under the leadership of the late Superindent, Rev. Enoch Backford Sr.

Rev. Backford, a man of great foresight, at the time, recognized the need for a
greater fellowship among the Union churches in New Providence. It was a step of faith and vision and today, we thank God for having brought the New Providence District to witness the celebration of its Golden Jubilee during the year 2009.

Read More

Exuma District

Date 1934   •   Exuma    •  


In 1934, the Rev Enoch Backford, Sr., the 2nd Superintendent of the Bahamas Baptist Union of Churches, inspired and propelled by the Holy Spirit, went to Exuma with a plan that, in our opinion, was divinely revealed. He met with the leaders of the Churches of the Bahamas Baptist Union on the island and invited them to a joint Session, which was held at the Mt. Zion Union Baptist Church, Moss Town, Exuma.

Read More


Northern Bahamas District

Date November 1987   •   Grand Bahama   •   Rev. Dr. Charles W. Saunders •  


On November 28, 1987, the Superintendent, Rev. Dr. C. W. Saunders, called a special meeting at the Cathedral of Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church, Bailey Town, Bimini. The meeting had a two-fold purpose; to formally organize the Nothern Bahamas District Convention of the Baha- mas Baptist Union of Churches and to formally appoint Rev. Dr. Keith Russell as Pastor of the one week old, Fellowship Union Baptist Church, Freeport, Grand Bahama.

Read More

Long Island District

Date 1980   •   Long Island   •   Pastor Cedric Smith & Rev. Adam Brown   •  


The year was 1980, when this District was officially formed. A debt of gratitude is owed to President Cedric Smith, Rev. Adam Brown and others of The Exuma District of The Bahamas Bap- tist Union, for the instrumental part which they played in the formation of the Long Island District.

This District consists of four churches, namely, Buelah Union Baptist, which is located in Simms, Salem Union Baptist in Millars, St. John’s Union Baptist in McKanns, and Gethsemane Union Baptist in Burnt Ground.

Read More


B.B.U.O.C. Gallery Curabitur sed urna id pulvinar semper.

pix pix pix pix pix pix

Make a donation.Pledge a donation.


Contact Us Carmichael Road, Nassua, NP.,


Address:P.O. Box N
Phone: +242-
FAX: +242-
Others: +242

E-mail: info@bahamasbaptistunion.org